811 Member Update

8/11 Day has finally arrived! We know many of you have been planning creative outreach for the 10th annual 8/11 Day celebration for months, but there’s still time to execute some last-minute ideas!

  • Download customizable internal communication, social media messages and graphics today. Visit the 8/11 Day toolkit to download and customize internal communications templates, social media messages and images that you can use across a range of digital platforms.

Whether you have major events planned or not, be sure to stay tuned to the #Call811 and #811Day hashtags on social media to follow these exciting member initiatives and others set to take place across the country today:

  • Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) and a coalition of damage prevention stakeholders will ring the closing bell of the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) in promotion of 811. Featured on the NYSE website, and on television networks such as CNBC, Bloomberg TV and Fox Business News, reaching millions of viewers worldwide, this effort by PG&E will bring national attention to the call before you dig number and safe digging message.
  • 811 Block Parties will be taking place in Indianapolis, Houston, Kansas City, St. Louis and Washington, D.C., as a result of collaborative member coalitions.
  • The 811 Hot Air Balloon will be in Richmond, Va., today for an exciting event with Virginia 811.
  • CGA members will bury their 811 Time Capsules for the Second Annual 811 Video Challenge. Even if you couldn’t bury your capsule today, there’s still time to get involved. Click here to learn more.

Finally, we’re excited to announce a new way for CGA members to submit information and photos to CGA for the CGA Update monthly newsletter.

Click here to visit the new CGA online submission form. We are extending our deadline by a few days due to the timing of 8/11 Day, so please send all information by next Tuesday, Aug. 15, for consideration in the August edition of CGA Update.
We look forward to seeing your #811Day campaigns!

811 Toolkit

The toolkit provides 811 resources for promoting the message and campaign.